What is the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)?

​The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets the standards that all childcare providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop and are kept healthy and safe. It covers the first stage of a child’s care, learning and development, from birth to 5 years old.

What is my legal duty as a childcare provider?

The national EYFS statutory framework sets out:

  • the safeguarding and welfare requirements you must follow to keep children safe and promote their welfare
  • the seven areas of learning and development which shape children's play and experiences
  • the early learning goals for each of the seven areas of learning and development
  • the requirements for assessing children's progress and reporting to parents and carers
  • GOV.UK: EYFS statutory framework

Guidance documents

The following documents help support the EYFS framework:

Timeline Photos

Our next fostering and adoption information evening is this Wednesday 21st March at 6.30pm. We would love to see you there. http://ow.ly/cPhC30itXVT

View on Facebook

@PHE_UK’s #actfast campaign reminds individuals of the main signs of #stroke and urges the public who notice any one of the signs in themselves or others to call 999, even if they are not sure. Do you know the signs?

View on Facebook

Council response to inspection report

View on Facebook

Stroke is one of the largest causes of complex disability in the UK. Acting FAST can potentially reduce long term effects. Watch Sas’ story to hear the importance of dialling 999. #actfast @PHE_UK

View on Facebook

Twenty years after Easter floods, EA issue reminder to sign up for flood warnings

View on Facebook

Transplants can only take place if people are willing to donate. While more than 4,000 people across the UK benefitted from an organ transplant last y...

View on Facebook