Consultation on proposed admissions arrangements for September 2020

All admission authorities are required to formally consult if they want to make any changes to their schools' admission arrangements for the following school year. They also have to consult on their admission arrangements at least once every 7 years, even if there have been no changes during that period.

Northamptonshire County Council co-ordinates the annual admissions consultation on behalf of all schools in the county, regardless of who the admission authority is. The aim of this consultation is to raise awareness of any proposed changes to admission arrangements and ensure that these are subject to appropriate consultation.

Admission arrangements consultation timetable 

The table below shows the timetable for the 2018 to 2019 consultation (for 2020 intakes).

​Email from the local authority to schools asking if any changes are proposed  October 2018
Consultation period (see School Admissions Code 1.42 to 1.45)​12  November to 21 December 2018 (see note below)
​Admission authorities determine admission arrangements​By 28 February 2019
​Own admission authority (OAA) schools to send determined arrangements to the local authority​By 15 March 2019
​Objections to the Schools AdjudicatorBy ​15 May 2019
​All schools to have provided the local authority with up to date information for inclusion in composite prospectuses ​By July 2019
​Local authority to publish composite prospectuses (primary and secondary)​By 12 September 2019

Note: a number of schools' admission arrangements had not been received by 12 November. To ensure that all schools' proposed changes receive 6 weeks of consultation, the end of the consultation period has been extended to Tuesday 8 January 2019.

Proposed changes to school admission arrangements for 2020

For the 2020 intakes, the local authority is not proposing any changes to the admission arrangements for its schools. The Relevant Area for Northamptonshire County Council remains the same - the county of Northamptonshire and neighbouring local authorities.

For Academies, Free Schools and UTCs, the Academy Trust is the admission authority, whilst for Foundation and Voluntary Aided schools, the governing body is the admission authority. All schools in Northamptonshire are required to provide the local authority with their proposed admission arrangements for 2020.

The consultation period for the 2018 to 2019 consultation intakes was initially intended to run from Monday 12 November to Friday 21 December 2018, but has been extended to Tuesday 8 January 2019. Details of schools’ proposed changes for 2020 intakes are listed below. 

Overview documents

The two links immediately below provide an overview of all Northamptonshire schools proposing changes to their admission arrangements for 2020. In some cases, schools (or the relevant admission authority, such as an Academy Trust) also submit their full admissions policies to us to enable proposed changes to be seen in context. Where this is the case, these can all be accessed via the relevant links in each of the sub-sections below.

Proposed admission arrangements 2020 (primary)

The link below provides proposed admission arrangements for all Northamptonshire primary schools within the Brooke Weston Trust: Beanfield Academy, Gretton Academy, Compass Primary Academy and Oakley Vale Academy (please see appendices 1 to 4 of the document).

The link below provides proposed admission arrangements for the four primary schools in the Learning for Life Education (Academy) Trust: Finedon Infant School, Finedon Mulso CE Junior School, Irthlingborough Nursery and Infant School and Irthlingborough Junior School.

The link below provides a generic scheme of admission arrangements proposed for all eleven primary schools within the Northampton Primary Academy Trust (NPAT): Abington Vale, Blackthorn, East Hunsbury, Ecton Brook, Headlands, Lings Primary, Rectory Farm, Simon de Senlis, Thorplands, Upton Meadows and Weston Favell CEVA Primary.

The link below provides proposed admission arrangements for the three primary schools within the Preston Hedges Academy Trust: Parklands, Pineham Barns and Preston Hedges. 

Proposed admission arrangements for 2020 (all-through)

Proposed admission arrangements for 2020 (secondary)

The document above provides proposed admissions arrangements for all Brooke Weston Trust secondary schools in Northamptonshire: The Brooke Weston Academy (Corby), Corby Business Academy, Corby Technical School and Kettering Science Academy (see appendices 6 to 9). Additionally, Corby Business Academy are also consulting specifically on their proposed 6th Form entry arrangements for 2020. Please see link immediately below for further information:

Northamptonshire's co-ordinated admission schemes (draft, 2020)

All local authorities must publish a scheme to co-ordinate admission arrangements for schools within their area. Northamptonshire's proposed Co-ordinated Schemes for 2020 (draft) can be viewed by using the links below:

Responding to proposed admission arrangements for 2020

Should you wish to make any comments about the proposed arrangements shown above you can do so by post or email.

By post:

Consultation on Admission Arrangements 2018/19
School Admissions Team Children First Northamptonshire
Northamptonshire County Council
One Angel Square
Angel Street

By email:

Objections to the Schools Adjudicator

Objections to the Schools Adjudicator regarding the admission arrangements determined by a school can be made by 15 May 2019.

The contact details for the Schools Adjudicator are as follows:

Office of the Schools Adjudicator
Bishopsgate house
Tel: 01325 340 402
GOV.UK - Objection to school admission arrangements