Community spirit recognised at Northamptonshire Emergency Services Cadets annual awards

14 December 2017
The NESC awards celebrated the work of young emergency services volunteers across the county

​Young people who give their spare time to help their communities through the Northamptonshire Emergency Services Cadets (NESC) scheme have been celebrated at an awards ceremony.

On Tuesday 12 December, cadets, unit leaders and proud family and friends gathered at Franklin’s Gardens in Northampton for the NESC annual awards.

Nine awards were presented by dignitaries including Northamptonshire Police Chief Constable Simon Edens, Northamptonshire Fire and Rescue Service’s Chief Fire Officer Darren Dovey, Martin Claydon from the East Midlands Ambulance Service, and Northamptonshire Police and Crime Commissioner Stephen Mold.

Recognising dedication and diligence

Ann-Marie Lawson, executive director of NESC, said: “The quality of the nominations greatly impressed our independent judging panel and conveyed the effort, achievements and pride that cadets and leaders have in their individual units and the Northamptonshire Emergency Services Cadets scheme as a whole.

“I feel privileged to work with such talent and potential and look forward to continuing to deliver exemplary youth provision.”

In the past year, members of NESC have given more than 37,000 hours of volunteering to projects in their local communities.

A team effort

Cadets received their awards from dignitaries including Northamptonshire Police Cheif Constable Simon Edens

Each of the scheme’s six units, Northampton, Daventry, Kettering, Kingswood Academy Corby, Towcester, and Wellingborough, nominated a Cadet of the Year from within its members.

These winners were Beth Loveridge, Kettering unit, Abbie Tearl, Wellingborough unit, Grace Hawkins, Towcester unit, Freddie Whitworth, Daventry unit, Adam Williams, Northampton unit, and Patrick McMillan, Kingswood Academy unit.

Patrick went on to be named overall NESC Cadet of the Year after receiving multiple nominations praising his enthusiasm, self-discipline and resilience, and received his award from Chief Constable Edens.

NESC offers a curriculum based around the work of the police, fire and ambulance services. Open to teenagers aged 13 to 18, units meet weekly during term time and enable cadets to support the work of the emergency services and make a positive contribution to their communities.

The 2017 NESC award recipients

Cadet of the Year

Patrick McMillan, Kingswood Academy unit

Community Champion Cadet

Harry O’Brien, Kettering unit

Community Champion (adult)

Steve Bedford, Northampton unit

Team of the Year


Diligence and General Excellence (cadet)

Noel Rottenbiller, Kingswood Academy unit

Transformation Award (cadet)

Aiden Allen, Kettering unit

Outstanding Contribution (adult)

Ashleigh Houlden, Northampton unit

Outstanding Contribution Cadet

Edward Harvey, senior cadet specialising in fire and rescue across all units

Youth Involvement Champion (adult)

Mick Leonard, Kettering unit

Find out more about NESC

Back to

News home

Most popular