23 July 2010

Councillors from Northamptonshire County Council have responded to a call for funding and together have raised £11,000 for Cransley Hospice.

A total of 22 councillors has agreed to donate £500 each from their empowering councillors allowance to support Cransley Hospice, which provides hospice and palliative care services for the population of north Northamptonshire.

The hospice is funded by the NHS, but is also supported by fundraising activities and charitable donations with the aim of raising £500,000 a year to sustain the quality of care at a vastly enhanced level and to purchase additional services and benefits for the patients, to make the patients stay as comfortable as possible.

Leader of the council, Councillor Jim Harker said: “I am very pleased that twenty-two county councillors, including myself, have been able to come together to raise this money through the council’s empowering councillors scheme.

“Cransley Hospice is a hugely worthwhile cause; it provides invaluable hospice and palliative care for people living in the north of the county and I the £11,000 we are donating will be used to continue this excellent work.”

Patron of Cransley Hospice, Reverend Dr John Smith said: “'What a significant and important donation this is. For 22 county councillors to donate £500 each from their 'empowering councillors allowance' - £11,000 in all - emphasizes just how important Cransley Hospice is to the community of north Northamptonshire. Because of donations such as this we can continue to provide palliative care to so many people. Donations DO make a difference and this certainly will'

The county council's Empowering Councillors and Communities project gives each of the county council’s 73 councillors £7000 per year to spend within their electoral division, and a further £3000 for Children & Young People based projects within their electoral division. Councillors can fund large or small schemes which will be of benefit to local people and the local community.

The 22 councillors are:

  • Councillor Jim Harker (Kettering Rural)
  • Councillor Larry Henson (Kettering Central)
  • Councillor Christopher Groome (Burton)
  • Councillor Michael Tye (Rushden South)
  • Councillor Belinda Humfrey (Desborough)
  • Councillor Rupert Reichhold (Oundle)
  • Councillor Sue Homer (Irchester)
  • Councillor Paul Bell (Swanspool)
  • Councillor David Dean (Queensway)
  • Councillor Bob Seery (Thrapston)
  • Councillor Andrew Langley (Irthlingborough)
  • Councillor Ron Pinnock (Rushden West)
  • Councillor Andy Mercer (Rushden East)
  • Councillor Dudley Hughes (Raunds)
  • Councillor Matt Lynch (St Andrew & St Peter’s)
  • Councillor Stan Heggs (Corby Rural)
  • Councillor Bob Civil (Ise)
  • Councillor Scott Edwards (Wicksteed)
  • Councillor Bill Parker (Brambleside)
  • Councillor Chris Stanbra (Danesholme)
  • Councillor Alan Pote (Rothwell)
  • Councillor John Bailey (Finedon)

For more information about the empowering councillors’ scheme see http://www.northamptonshire.gov.uk/en/councilservices/Council/councillors/Pages/EmpoweringCouncillors.aspx