18 May 2011

A refreshed cabinet team has been announced by the leader of Northamptonshire County Council to help drive forward a new era of public services in Northamptonshire.

Leader of the Council, Cllr Jim Harker has today announced a reshuffled set of cabinet portfolios which closely aligns to the proposed changes made to the structure of the council as it embarks on delivering services for an ever growing population while facing up to significant and ongoing reductions in government funding.

Cllr Harker’s team’s first public role will be at the Full Council Annual General Meeting taking place at County Hall on Thursday.

Cllr Harker said: “We are embarking on one of the most challenging periods for this organisation as we seek to find new inventive and efficient ways of delivering services for the county.

“The council is being reshaped to deliver this year's budget - the most challenging in our history. This will help reduce our management costs and deliver services in a more streamlined and effective way and this is now reflected in the changes made to my cabinet team.

“I have every confidence that my team will be able to move the organisation forward and not only deliver the very real changes we need now but also face up to the equally tough challenges we will face in the future.”

The Cabinet for 2011/12 will be:

  • Leader
    Councillor Jim Harker
  • Deputy Leader (and) Business Intelligence & Performance
    Councillor Joan Kirkbride
  • Community Services
    Councillor David Mackintosh
  • Customer Services
    Councillor Heather Smith
  • Environment
    Councillor Ben Smith
  • Finance
    Councillor Bill Parker
  • Health and Social Services
    Councillor Robin Brown
  • Learning, Skills and Education
    Councillor Andrew Grant
  • Local Government Shared Services
    Councillor Andrew Langley
  • Transport and Infrastructure
    Councillor Andre Gonzalez de Savage