22 July 2011

Northamptonshire County Council has written to ten schools to tell them that they are next in line for funding to improve the condition of their buildings under the Serial Build capital funding programme.

The ten schools are among the 40 primary schools in the county categorised as “serial build” constructed to a certain specification in the late 1960s to mid 1970s and now all suffering from varying degrees of structural defects.

Councillor Andrew Grant, cabinet member for children, learning and skills, said: “We’ve categorised the serial build schools into three groups according to the severity of the defects. With phase three of the serial build programme, we’ll have remedied all of the schools in the two categories requiring the most urgent improvement works.

“The schools will benefit from a £4.87m capital fund which will cover the repair costs at the ten schools and the ongoing monitoring of the remaining category C schools.

Assessments and scoping work will now take place at each school so that detailed plans can be drawn up. Work is scheduled for completion by December 2012.

The ten phase three schools are:

  • Windmill Primary School
  • Braunston CE Primary School
  • Southbrook Infant School
  • Hardingstone Primary School
  • Cogenhoe Primary School
  • Millbrook Infant School
  • Towcester CE Primary School
  • Yardley Gobion CE Primary School
  • Whitefriars Infant School
  • Oakway Infant School

Seven schools have already had improvement work completed during the first phase of the serial build programme and another four - Great Doddington Primary, Kingswood Primary, Ruskin Infant and The Bramptons Primary - will see remedial work taking place this year.